No More Finding Me

by bryan maynard

van-goghs-cypress-and-wheatfield-frank-wuts

There’s come a point where the journey to know my own soul and where I am in relation to the world around me comes to an end. It becomes fruitless. Too much rides on the self and fails to allow life to do its part in the discovery. When we arrive at this condition of ceasing to attempt to know ourselves, a counter-intuitive knowing begins. I stand still in the forest, but this time I know that standing still is filled with a new kind of anticipation and hope. “If I stand still, perhaps the forest will find me.” Lost in the forest, but knowing it, I realize I am not the only one looking or searching!   And so, I stand still with childlike humility and resolve to trust that life will find me. The end of finding is being found.

